Yiyen Tseng


ESR6 Yiyen Tseng low res

 

ESR 6

Primary Supervisor: Prof Marisol Izquierdo

Co-Supervisor: Prof P. Eckhard Witten

EDUCATION

I obtained my BS and MS degrees both in Aquaculture from National Pingtung University of Science and Technology (NPUST), Taiwan in 2015 and 2017 respectively with a focus in fish nutrition. Since 2019 I have been pursuing my PhD degree at University of Las Palmas Gran Canaria (ULPGC) in Spain.

SCIENTIFIC WORK EXPERIENCE

I started to get exposed to aquaculture during my high school study at National Keelung Maritime Vocational High School (NKMS), Taiwan. Over the three high school years, I was able to maintain my study record within the top 3 best students in my class. Through intensive training, I had learned a lot of knowledge and professional skills in Aquaculture focusing on fish & shrimp physiology, fish & shrimp reproduction, aquatic biology (plankton), biochemistry analysis. After finishing my high school, I published two articles on Tetraselmis and Brachionus plicatilis and participated Taiwan’s National Skill Competition in Aquaculture. From the Competition, I was able to take the fifth place and successfully entered NPUST in 2011.

At NPUST, I was able to do my best and maintain the top 3 in my class. In the end, my hard work paid off; I obtained the third best award when I graduated from NPUST. At NPUST, I studied the effect of cholic acid in whiteleg shrimp’s (litopenaeus vannamei) feed additive and the impact of cholesterol with my colleague, experiment was designed by Prof. Lin. In the third year at NPUST, I had started taking advanced courses in master program. Finally, I was able to finish my BS degree in three years and started my Master degree study earlier than most of my peers, which allow me to have more opportunities to focus on my interested study topics.

My Master study focus was on the nutrition of orange spotted grouper (Epinephelus coioides). My Master thesis topic was the effects of dietary medium chain fatty acid on growth, nutrient digestibility and lipid metabolism in orange-spotted grouper, Epinephelus coioides, which was also my first paper published in the journal of Aquaculture Nutrition. Apart from my own study, in the first year of my master, I had an experience of working as a teaching assistant in the biochemistry practice course for the undergraduate students. Within the years of my master study, I had presented my research results as oral presentation at the 10th Symposium of World’s Chinese Scientists On Nutrition And Feed Of Finfish And Shellfish (Oct, 2015), and the 11th Asian Fisheries and Aquaculture Forum (August, 2016).

After finishing my master degree, I worked as a lab assistant at NPUST in Taiwan for 8 months and took responsibilities for carrying out various research projects from fish to shrimp nutrition. For instance, I assisted to design the diet formulation, formulate the experimental diets, analyze samples, and help finish project reports.

Currently I am a PhD student at the Universidad de las Palmas de Gran Canaria studying the Skeletal health of marine fish larvae and juveniles fed with plant ingredient diets with supplement of Zinc, Manganese and Selenium. I will determine the different levels of these nutrients to improve the growth, bone development and mineralization in a commercial species Gilthead seabream (Sparus aurata). Ultimately, it aims to obtain the optimum dietary levels and molecular forms of Zn, Mn and Se in gilthead seabream commercial diets for best skeletal health.

OTHER HIGHLIGHTS

When I was a child, I had the opportunity to study in Australia for 3 years. While in Australia, I was completely attracted by the beautiful and natural environment. Being able to have the special personal experience and immerse into the environment of the wild of this grand country had aroused my curiosity and interest in nature. This precious experience does not only broaden my mind and perspective, but also it had influenced me substantially. That is the main reason why I am interested to Aquaculture and chose it as my major in my studies.

I am an outgoing person and enjoy socializing with people. I like to make new friends from all around the world. Furthermore, I enjoy outdoor activities such as kayak, tennis, and ice skating. In addition, I had 2 years of experience on ballet as well as piano. I speak Taiwanese (mother tongue), Mandarin, English, and a little bit of Spanish.

In the next three years, I will make great efforts on my research project to fulfill the aims of this project. When finished, I plan to do for a postdoctoral position to continue my research in bone anomalies either in Aquaculture or Biomedicine. After that, I would like to pursue a tenure position either at universities in my country (Taiwan) or any countries so that I can continue on my interested research topics in bone anomalies with stake holders such as feed production or pharmaceutical companies.

Share this page